Cheesy Tuna Pesto Pasta

I remember the time when I cooked my very first pasta dish 16 years ago. Nobody in the family knew how to cook after my father passed away in 1996. Being the eldest in the family, I was obliged to learn how to cook for my brothers and sisters and copy my father’s style of cooking. And when my sister Rose gave birth to her daughter Nicole in 1997, the name “NANAY DODES” was born. My love for my niece brought forth my passion in cooking, my desire to prepare delicious home cooked party dishes and to give her decent birthday parties in the early stages of her life. Well, I miss her so much. It’s been six years since I last saw her( She’s now staying with her mom in New Jersey).

If I had to ask my son now and let him guess that pasta dish that I first cooked, I am a hundred percent positive, he would say “easy peasy lemon squeezy, it’s spaghetti!” But let’s reserve the spaghetti for the next birthday party at home. What i’d like to share with you now is this simple pasta dish that is so easy to prepare. All you need to do is to put a few spoonfuls of olive oil in a pan, add 6-8 cloves of crushed garlic, add 3 whole sliced tomatoes, bring the tomatoes to a simmer and then add one canned tuna, three tbsp. of bottled pesto, one tbsp. of dried parsley and about two tbsp of parmesan cheese. Boil up a bunch of spaghetti in salted water and cook until they’re al dente. Then in a serving bowl, combine the drained pasta with the tuna pesto sauce. You now have a fragrant ,healthy and delicious pasta dish that is so easy to prepare.
295641_10151288729010957_825011235_n

That’s it! Easy, healthy and delicious! Thank you so much,Nanay’sluncheswithlove

5 thoughts on “Cheesy Tuna Pesto Pasta

  1. Hi ate Dodes, what a nice, touching story. I did however knew how to cook since I was 12 and was always cooking when I was prego but not at the same caliber as you do. You were definitely a late bloomer in the kitchen/cooking department but when you did, your burning passion for it was soooo unstoppable. You cook from your heart and soul and that’s what makes your cooking so delish and special, I miss it so bad. Thank you for being the ‘daddy’ to our kitchen when he left us. You we all are grown ups now and have our own families but you are the one who makes this family cohesive through your cooking and generous heart and I thank you for that. I’m sure Our brothers and sisters and mommy agree to that. And I know daddy, wherever he may be is so proud of his eldest daughter. Love you te, keep cooking and may your passion for it continue to grow.

    • Super thanks Oh sorry if i didn’t remember that you were cooking since you were 12. Oh now I remember. We did everything when we were young, saing cooking pero super basics nga lang .I can even remember how we used to clean and make our floor shiny with banana stalks ..hahhaha remember that ? I love you Rose .I hope to be with you soon..I can’t wait to cook for you and your family…..God bless you!

Leave a Reply

